Tech|EDGE 2015
The Region 2000 Technology Council held their second annual TechEDGE Dinner and Awards Night at the Academy of Fine Arts on Oct. 22, 2015. Approximately 150 people attended the event honoring area companies, organizations and individuals excelling in technology.

Award recipients included: Innovator of the Year—Adam Spontarelli of Vector Space; Entrepreneur of the Year—Tony Erskine of Sharptop Co.; STEM Educator of the Year—Cindy Watson of Altavista High School; and Technology Company of the Year—Trax, LLC.

Special recognition for regional technology excellence acknowledged three local initiatives including: Altavista Microsoft TEALS project; Lynchburg City for their Tech Hire Designation; and the Bedford County Montvale Tower Project.


2015 ATHENA Awards

The Lynchburg Regional Chamber held the 2015 Women of Worth Luncheon at the Kirkley Hotel, recognizing and honoring professional women from our region. Sixteen female leaders were nominated; among them were CEOs, business owners, entrepreneurs, nonprofit directors, attorneys and educators. The Chamber presents the ATHENA Award to an exceptional individual who has achieved excellence in her business or profession, has served the community in a meaningful way and has assisted women in their attainment of professional goals and leadership skills. A special presentation was made honoring the life and contributions of Alison Parker, the reporter from WDBJ7 who was killed earlier this year while doing a live broadcast. “It was important for us to celebrate the life of Alison who even though was just starting out in her career, had such an impact on those she came in contact with,” stated Chamber President, Christine Kennedy.

Shauna Parsons, Owner and President of Evergreen Basement Systems, was announced the 2015 ATHENA Award recipient. Shauna took her father’s small company and grew it by 1000% in 13 years. Each year since Parsons has been an active supporter of 4H and The Lion’s Club and currently serves as a board member with the Falling River Country Club and the Appomattox County Economic Development Authority. She supports numerous organizations by hosting and executing more than 20 fundraising dinners each year.

The luncheon also featured a panel of local female leaders including Sharon Eimer, Hermina Hendricks, Synda Maynard and Rebekah Moody, who shared advice and lessons learned. The theme for this year’s luncheon was “Celebrating (Y)our Possibilities.”

This year’s ATHENA Award Nominees included: Tammy Brown; Susan Cash; LaShonda Delivuk; Tracey Dixon; Jennifer Duncan; Patricia Johnson; Amy Kowalski; Megan Lucas; Cynthia McCoy; Mehgan McCrickard; Shauna Parsons (2015 Athena Award recipient); Ethel Reeves; Lori Ruff; Ann Shenigo; Lisa Singleton; and Makena Yarbrough.