Olivia Beavon—New director of special events and communications for the Bedford Area Chamber of Commerce. Beavon is a graduate of Liberty University with a degree in public relations/advertising. She previously worked for Stewart Langley Properties as the marketing and administrative coordinator.

Caroline Biggs—New director of public policy and special programming at the Lynchburg Regional Business Alliance. Previously, Biggs was a legislative aide to State Senator Steve Newman. She graduated from Liberty University with a B.A. in government/public policy.

Ahgnes Bolusa-Sabugo, M.D.—Named 2016 “Provider of the Year” by the Virginia Community Healthcare Association. Dr. Sabugo is a physician at Johnson Health Center in Amherst, where she has been an innovator in care coordination, patient centeredness and the patient-centered medical home model.

Matt Brady—One of the founders of the newly-formed New Dominion Solar, he serves as the company’s director of business development. Brady was trained through the country’s most prestigious solar training school, Solar Energy International, and is one of the few individuals in the Lynchburg region holding a certification from the North American Board of Certified Energy Professionals.

Derrick Brown—New principal for Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School for Innovation. Brown served as assistant principal at Amherst County Middle School since 2012 and is known for starting the I.R.O.N men program at Amherst County High School while a teacher there in 2009.

Jenny Entsminger—Agent for the new real estate franchise: NextHome TwoFourFive. Previously in property management for 10 years, Entsminger has worked as general manager for B&C Custom Contracting for two years and has been a licensed realtor since May 2015.

Joy Peterson Heyrman, Ph.D.—New executive director of the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts in Amherst. Heyrman was most recently deputy director for Museum Advancement at the Walters Art Museum in Baltimore.

Tom Illingworth—Regional sales manager for the newly-formed New Dominion Solar in Lynchburg. Illingworth has more than 30 years of sales/management experience, successfully leading sales teams in multiple industries. Transitioning into the solar industry when he arrived from Pittsburgh more than five years ago, he is a passionate advocate for renewable energy.

Susan McCafferty—Named 2016 “Staff Member of the Year” by the Virginia Community Healthcare Association. McCafferty is an outreach and enrollment specialist at Johnson Health Center in Amherst, where she works within the community to expand access to affordable and quality healthcare.

Jeffrey W. Myers—Recently honored as a 2015 Top Advisor of Cadaret, Grant & Co., Inc. Myers is the AAMS-certified Founder and Managing Director of Jeffrey Wealth Management in Lynchburg with over 17 years in the financial services industry and a degree from Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business.

Yonnie Schewel—Received the first annual Marion T. Baker Award for Pro Bono Service given by the Lynchburg Bar Association and Virginia Legal Aid Society (VLAS) in May. Through VLAS’ Pro Bono Involvement program, Schewel has taken numerous cases for VLAS involving family law, guardianships, housing and special education.

Brandon Tomlin—Partner in Lynchburg’s newest real estate franchise: NextHome TwoFourFive. Tomlin is also managing partner of B&C Custom Contracting and Phoenix Custom Homes.